filesystems, processes & vendors.. oh my

Developer
Mar 20, 2009 at 5:32 PM
I started working on an implement of the iso9660 filesystem for CD-ROM's, and as I'm studying the FAT
code, I realized I would have to duplicate a lot of code. So, I started thinking about how to rework it
so that they could share code and my first inclination was that the VFS was a good place to put it.

However, as I thought about it some more, I realized that in order to do this "right", each FS implementation
needs to be it's own process so that the OS can run new FS's without having to recompile the kernel. This means
that VFS has to communicate with FS's through IPC. Therefore, I think I need to put my ISO9660 FS driver on
hold and help start work on process's and ipc. The problem is this is an area where I am weak. Can I get some
suggestions on how to begin work on that? Also, with regards to FS drivers specifically, I think that common
FS code needs to be implemented in a shared library to reduce excessive ipc ping-ponging between VFS and the
specific FS process. If this sounds like a good direction, I can start working on defining the interfaces
and ipc packets that would be needed to implement it "right".

This brings me to a long discussion that I had on IRC with tgiphil and illuminus. I see HUGE potential in
MOSA, perhaps a bit more than even founders of MOSA themselves. Allow me to illustrate. You can't start any
project without having a vision. Right now the vision is a driver framework so that a driver written for one
OS works on all others without having to be recompiled from source ( only JIT'd from the CIL ). Imagine for
a moment that MOSA becomes a useable desktop OS - not too far fetched I hope. As hardware manufacturers
start to support MOSA, they will realize that it is 10 to 100x easier to write drivers for MOSA than any
other system, and assuming we can deliver on performance, they will start to demand that Windows and Linux support